Looking back at the NCAA Final Four

Victoria Flores, Sports Reporter

Only four teams remained in the NCAA March Madness men’s basketball tournament — the South Carolina Gamecocks, the Gonzaga Bulldogs, the Oregon Ducks, and the North Carolina Tar Heels. The Tar Heels emerged as the champions.

The Gamecocks are from the University of South Carolina in Columbia, South Carolina. They previously won the Southern Conference titles in 1927, 1933, 1934, and 1945. They are led by player of the year Sindarius Thornwell.

The Bulldogs are from the Gonzaga University in Spokane, Wash. They entered the 2015 NCAA tournament as the No. 2 seed in the Southwest. They finished their 2016-17 season with their record of 37 wins and two losses, and they are led by Przemek Karnowski and point guard Nigel Williams-Goss.

The Ducks are from the University of Oregon in Eugene, Ore. They returned to the Final Four for the first time since winning the title in 1939.

The Tar Heels are from the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.  They are currently ranked 3rd all time in wins following Kentucky by a total of 32 games. North Carolina finished off this 2016-17 season with 33 wins and 7 losses, and winning their sixth national title.

They toiled their way up to the Final Four by defeating the No. 2 Gonzaga, No.3 Kansas, and No.4 Arizona teams in the East Region.

South Carolina Gamecocks went against the Gonzaga Bulldogs, and the Oregon Ducks went up against the North Carolina Tar Heels April 1. South Carolina lost against Gonzaga, with a final score of 73-77. Oregon lost against North Carolina, with a final score of 76-77. This left Gonzaga and North Carolina to play in the NCAA 2017 Championship Finals.